Catalog Search  

Shawnee Public Library

Learn more about Computer File Management with Shawnee class

The Shawnee Public Library invites computer users to boost their knowledge with a Computer File Management class, at 10 a.m. Tuesday, April 29, in the Computer Training Center of the library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Participants will learn to create, move, organize, rename, and delete files. The class will practice saving files to different locations and in different formats as well as to and from different types of devices such as cameras and smartphones.

Read more: Learn more about Computer File Management with Shawnee class

Teens commemorate Earth Day with bird feeder craft in Shawnee

The Shawnee Public Library invites local teens to celebrate Earth Day at a craft program, starting at 2 p.m. Saturday, April 26, in Community Room A of the library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Participants will be putting together a variety of recycled items to construct a bird feeder they can take home. All supplies will be provided by library staff.

Read more: Teens commemorate Earth Day with bird feeder craft in Shawnee

Build your social networking skills with Shawnee classes

The Shawnee Public Library gives an introduction to the popular online services Pinterest and Facebook at a pair of upcoming computer classes.

The library hosts “Facebook for Beginners” at 10 a.m. Wednesday, April 23, and “Introduction to Pinterest” at 10 a.m. Thursday, April 24, in the Computer Training Center of the library, 101 N. Philadelphia Ave.

Read more: Build your social networking skills with Shawnee classes

April's Keep Reading!

The Son book coverADULT FICTION:  THE SON by Philipp Meyer

In the tradition of Larry McMurtary, Philipp Meyer considers the settlement of Texas through the eyes of three generations.  Eli McCullough, taken at age 13 by the Comanches, is the patriarch.  His son, Peter may carry the McCullough name, but he does not share his father’s greed for more land and more money.  That personality trait is picked up by Jeannie, Eli’s great-granddaughter.  I have to confess that while I enjoyed Eli’s and Peter’s stories, I found myself wanting to skip through Jeannie’s tale.  Her life just seemed boring.  I would rate this novel as OK.

Read more: April's Keep Reading!

New in Fabulous Fiction Finds

The Fabulous Fiction Finds corner at Shawnee is the home of inspirational fiction during the month of April.  These novels cross all genres, but are works of fiction that will leave you with a good feeling when you finish the last page.  Also called Christian fiction, you can be sure that the language is such that it won't make you blush.

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousReddit
Pin It

Staff Link - Developed by the Pioneer Virtual Library, Powered by Joomla! - Pioneer Library System 300 Norman Center Court, Norman OK 73072